SH 86 C-E - $299.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
SH 86 C-E

DSRP: $299.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A professional-grade shredder vac/blower with top-of-the-line power.

Powered by a low emissions engine, the new SH 86 C-E professional shredder vac/blower has increased vacuum power and shredding performance that will blow you away. Fuel efficient and operator-friendly, this shredder vac easily converts into a handheld blower. Equipped with features like a special shredder blade on the fan wheel that reduces yard waste, along with the STIHL Easy2Start™ system, soft...Read More
Print Spec Sheets
SH 86 C-E Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 27.2 cc (1.66 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 0.8 kW (1.07 bhp)
WEIGHT 5.6 kg (12.3 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 440 cc (14.9 oz.)
BLOWING FORCE* 15 Newtons
AVG. AIR VELOCITY** 63 m/sec. (141 mph)
MAX. AIR VELOCITY** 76 m/sec. (169 mph)
AIR VOLUME AT NOZZLE** 756 m3/h (444 cfm)
SOUND PRESSURE RATING** 70 dB(A)
BAG CAPACITY 1.5 cu. ft. = 1.2 bushel
POWER SOURCE Gas
*Newton is the force needed to accelerate 1 kg of mass at the rate of 1 m/sec2. **Tested in accordance with ANSI 175.2 standard. All specifications provided by Andreas STIHL AG, as of April 2016.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    STIHL Easy2Start™
    The STIHL Easy2Start™ system makes starting STIHL® outdoor power tools almost effortless, eliminating the need for a strong pull of the starting cord. This advanced starting system is designed to make starting STIHL® products fast and easy. The specific system may vary by model, but in each case, a quick pull overcomes the engine’s compression to minimize the strength and effort required to start. Available on selected products.
  • Zoom
    Throttle Trigger Lock with Built-In Momentary Stop Switch
    The built-in stop switch allows the user to turn off the engine with a simple press of the button or lever. When the engine is off, the throttle lock automatically returns to the “start” setting. Your power tool will be ready to be started when you’re ready to get back to work.
  • Zoom
    Shoulder Strap
    The STIHL shoulder strap allows for greater maneuverability and helps reduce operator fatigue, allowing the user to work comfortably.
  • Zoom
    Multi-Function Control Handle
    Having easy access to all of the controls on one comfortable handle helps makes it easier to complete tasks so the operator’s hand never has to leave the handle.
  • Zoom
    Purge Pump Primer
    The purge pump primer feature enables the user to prime the carburetor with fuel, enabling easier starting. The purge pump primer is designed in a way that the operator cannot flood the machine by priming the carburetor too many times. Flooding the engine is still possible if the choke is not removed after the engine fires.
  • Zoom
    Soft Grip Handle
    This handle design provides a secure and comfortable grip.
  • Zoom
    HD2 Air Filter
    The new HD2 air filter on this unit is washable, providing extremely long filter life and lowering maintenance costs. The large surface area allows for longer run times between cleanings and high performance even while operating in dusty and dry conditions. Overall, the HD2 air filter provides better protection of the engine compared to standard air filters.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Handheld Blowers and Shredders
    View the features common to many STIHL handheld blowers and Shredders.

Important Information
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
We Also Suggest
  • HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil Zoom
    HP Ultra 2-Cycle Engine Oil
    HP Ultra is a fully synthetic 2-cycle engine oil specially suited for high performance chainsaws and power tools. This oil has outstanding engine cleaning characteristics, plus “ultra” superior lubricating qualities in comparison to other 2-cycle engine oils. It is ideal for use in STIHL 4-MIX® engines. This oil is biodegradable, degrading by 80% in 21 days.

    •2.6 oz. bottle makes 1 gallon mix

    •5.2 oz. bottle makes 2 gallon mix

    •6.4 oz. bottle makes 2 1/2 gallon mix

    •12.8 oz. bottle makes 5 gallon mix

    STIHL recommends a mix of 50:1 high-quality 89 octane or higher unleaded gasoline to STIHL engine oil. This same mix ratio should be used during break-in.

  • Gutter Kit Zoom
    Gutter Kit
    Clogged gutters may become a thing of the past with this quick and manageable gutter attachment. A series of plastic tubes attach to your STIHL handheld blower and can extend to more than ten feet, providing the additional extension needed to reach most residential gutters. Great for removing dry leaves and debris. For use with BG 55, BG 56 C-E, BG 66 L, BG 86 and BG 86 C-E. Contact us for details.
  • No-Spill® Fuel Containers Zoom
    No-Spill® Fuel Containers
    The latest advance in gasoline can technology is here with No-Spill® fuel containers. Featuring a special treated body for low permeation, thumb-button flow controls for easier pouring, and a wide and stable base design to reduce upsets, No-Spill® fuel containers help ensure that the gasoline goes into your tank, not on the ground or into the air. Fill even smaller-sized tanks without spilling – flow stops automatically when the tank becomes full. With 1¼-gallon, 2 ½-gallon and 5-gallon sizes available, you’re sure to find one that fits your needs. Ask your local STIHL Dealer about No-Spill® fuel containers. Don’t settle for anything less.

    Meets California Air Resources Board Phase II requirements for sale or use in California. No-Spill® gasoline cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-852-99 standard specification for portable gasoline containers for consumer use and our diesel and kerosene cans are tested and certified to ASTM F-976-02 standard specification for portable kerosene and diesel containers for consumer use.

  • Reflective Safety Vest Zoom
    Reflective Safety Vest
    Class II reflective vest that is required for working along highways meets ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 standard. Longer tail in the back provides maximum reflective exposure for users running backpack blowers. Two front pockets and one chest pocket provide utility for carrying necessary items. Available sizes: Medium, Large, X Large, XX Large
For Your Safety
  • Work Gloves Zoom
    Work Gloves
    Double palm layer and finger tips provide long life. Breathable polyester back and knit wrist provide snug fit. One size fits most.
  • STIHL® Pro Mark™  Hearing Protector Zoom
    STIHL® Pro Mark™ Hearing Protector
    Padded stainless steel spring wire headband maintains constant pressure. Easy to adjust. Noise Reduction Rating (NRR): 29. Meets ANSI S3.19-1974 standard.

    Colors available: Camouflage, Orange and Grey

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

SH 86 C-E is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 170.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible engineering To do the job of leaf vacuum or blowing, this unit does a pretty good job. My problem is that converting from vacuum to blower is just about impossible. The connection and disconnection of the plastic blower and vacuum tubes to the motor unit is terribly engineered. When removing my parts its almost to the point of breaking something before they come free. When installing, things look tight only to blow off as soon as I start the machine. In order to open a door to attach the vacuum, you have to jam a screw driver into a slot to unlock. No instructions on the unit itself to explain how to accomplish these tasks. Very, very disappointed in this. I would have expected that Stihl engineers would have come up with a quick connect/disconnect system for these extension parts.
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality product that should have better performance I have several Stihl products and I will continue to purchase and recommend Stihl for the durability and quality. This one product, SH 86 C, has yet to become the performer I expect from Stihl. It takes a minute or so to run at it's peak rpm's and never attains the level of performance I expect from a Stihl product. I am giving it time to break in, running several tanks of fuel through it first before having it tuned up. I have a smaller and older Stihl blower that has twice the blowing force. So overall, I feel this is a quality product. It always starts, I'm hoping it will develop into the performer I feel it should be. I recommended this product based on my prior experience with Stihl and fully anticipate it will improve with a service checkup.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really does a number on Leaves. Bought it because I already had a leaf shedder, electric and wanted a gas shredder, just use the Vac, because I have 2 blowers already, and it make short work and shreds well so you don't use as many leaf bags.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice handheld Blower / Vacuum My dealer was not enthusiastic when I told him I hoped to vacuum sweet gum balls with it, and he was right. I could get some small ones but it's not designed for this purpose. Nice vacuum with sufficient power if you want to get leaves cleaned up from a smaller yard. I quit using the vac and kept it as a blower for about 6 years. Well maintained, mine starts on the third pull every time without fail. Looking to sell it now as I just got the BR600 blower for my larger property and greater blowing force. I did not find switching from one task to another troublesome, but it does take a minute or two. Great for a regular size driveway and yard blower and for cleaning up smaller spaces with a vacuum.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Keep your expectations low. I will start by saying I love sthil products .”for the most part now” I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the SH 86C-E.,leaves are falling and I had high expectation my clean up life would be so much easier this fall,boy was I wrong. The vacuum part is amazing ,this machine will pick up just about anything ,the problem is processing thru. I spent so much time today dismantling the tubes from the motor to unclog leaves I finally gave up and went back to the rake. This snap system to hold the tubes on is a nightmare , Why not push button Releases.? You need one hand to hold the unit,another to push the tab with a screw driver and a third to turn the coupler. Who’s got three hands.? Im sure this thing is fine for very very light leaf clean up but don’t try to put more than a handful thru at once.Really disappointed .
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blow your mind Bought the gutter tube attachment and it was really useful great tool, nice power to this little blower and the reliability AWESOME
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Blower works great... but the shredding... not so much So, if this was a review about the blower aspect only - it would be a four star review. Unfortunately, I bought this because I wanted to blow the leaves into a pile, AND then mulch/shred them. I have always managed to blow the leaves and debris without too much of a problem - it works well enough for that. But... if you plan on using this for shredding anything other than leaves - and I mean ANYTHING other than DRY leaves - well, you had better enjoy taking it apart to unclog the shredder/fan. This thing has been stopped by twigs the size of a small matchstick! It is actually that ridiculous. I am probably going to keep this as a leaf blower, and get a different shredder - from a different manufacturer.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than I thought.............. Blower is powerful, vacuum is even more powerful. Contrary to some previous reviews, you shouldn't have a problem with the shredder if you don't vacuum up small rocks - so, you know, I'd avoid that when possible. Switchover from blower to vacuum takes about 2 minutes which could be shortened if the release was able to be used without a screwdriver to "poke" the release through a small slot in the housing. I can understand how this might be frustrating, however, the tradeoff is likely a more secure appliance and attachment. 50/50, but I'd prefer the way it's done, it's very secure. The vacuum is especially powerful (see small rocks, above). You have to be righthanded because if you use it left handed, the air intake will be against your leg and this will reduce the efficiency of the unit, or as I found out, pull a loose pair of short pants towards it to cover the entire intake. The exhaust is appropriately positioned away from the body no matter how you use it. The intake cover flips up to connect the vacuum, and stays well out of the way unless you jam the entire 4 feet of the piping into a bush (in which case, the whole engine would be in the bush as well - and so would your arms). Overall, this is a great unit that makes using it almost fun. Dependability is 4/5 because I've not owned it for multiple years, but assuming 80% at least.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bought in 2015 I bought this blower shedder vac in 2015. Very hard to start. I have had to have the outer casing replaced for the rope pull, In July 2017. It's now mid October and it's bad again. Money down the drain. So today I took the casing off to find it in pieces again. Luckily I had a Claw Hammer close. So I just beat the living day lights out of it. Gaurenteed not to start now. I will go back with another brand.
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointed Very disappointed in the performance and durability. The vac just don't stand up to the hype. Small pieces of wood jam the vac had take in for service no blower or vac for over a week .
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Eazy 2 start is terrible One week old the spring inside failed. Took it back to dealer, took them 2 weeks to get a new one. Now have to pull very carefully, hard to start. 13 months latter, spring bent. Went to open and coil spring exploded. Take it back again, 2 weeks later it ran for 1 hr then PLASTIC re coiler broke, sucked pull rope into coil, bent spring. Had an old shred vac for 7 yrs. wore it out so I figured get same one. Bad choice.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy start, runs quietly with lots of power Replaced a prior blower/shredder from another maker, this is a definite upgrade in every way. Easy start, usually on the first or second pull, runs great from idle to full bore, with lots of power.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Have had this blower for 3 years never stops working starts first pull every time. The reviews that say didn't start after a few uses need to learn how to mix gas it's a 2 stroke.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Sure makes cleaning out after my Jacaranda tree. Makes my job almost fun. Sure is handy to have a heavy duty blower and shredder vac in one piece of equipment.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent blower - hard to start I had the equivalent model for 8 year before it need to be replaced. The old model and the new model blowers both do the job as expected. I have not used the vac feature on the new model yet. The older model always stared easily. I am disappointed that the new unit is hard to start especially when warm. Last night after the unit had been idle for about 15 minutes I could not get is started again. I had to finish the job with my wife's battery powered blower. I would have given 5 stars if it was easier to start.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second one of this exact model Starts quickly every time. Shredder is vulnerable to damage when vacuuming around small rocks, but is powerful. Works well when held in right hand, but is not intended to be used on left side of body as is sometimes necessary. I use it year round; even in the winter to blow light snowfalls from sidewalks. Wish it had the ability to extend the blower attachment even longer for some jobs. If this one wears out, I will buy another one just like it as a replacement.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice replacement for my Craftsman I lost my old blower when someone happened to find it in my locked garage, but that's another story. Since it's the height of the mowing season I needed a replacement in hurry. After reading Consumer Reports and other website reviews of gas blowers the Stihl kept coming up as "Best Overall". I wanted a blower/vac comparable to the power that I had in my old blower so I picked up the 86. I went to my local dealer and it was already assembled. The salesman showed me how to switch from the vac, (which it was set up for) to blower mode. It was pretty straight forward. He poured gas in, pressed the primer bulb three times, and she started right up in the store. I took it home and it started up on the first pull. I cleaned up all the debris from when I cut the lawn earlier and I was pleasantly surprised at its ability to displace debris. It doesn't feel as powerful as my old blower but it moves debris much more effectively. I feel as though I finished the job in half the time. I used that vac and it picked up the leaves with no problem.
Date published: 2017-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the price Got this to replace another brand. This starts much easier & out performs in every area. Blower operation is very strong even at idle. Vac operation is excellent & that it shreds as well is really a plus. Bag cleans out easily. Much quieter operation even at high speeds. Absolutely worth the price.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Powerful and quiet....poor ergonomics I had a "different blow/vac" and you could change from blower to vacuum/mulcher with the flip of a lever. Very convenient when doing leaves to be able to go back and forth.The Stihl runs great and is very quiet, but a pain in the neck convert.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Power is amazing I've been putting off buying a "Stihl Blower" for quite some time, as I didn't think it would be worth the price. I don't need to blow off a lot of area, and my trees aren't full grown yet, so the mulching isn't going to be needed in full force yet, but I'm so... happy I purchased the SH 86 C-E. It starts on the First Pull, as my "Stihl Trimmer" does. Don't wait to purchase the SH 86-C-E. You'll be happy you did. Extra advice: Purchase the Stihl Moto mix with your new Stihl products, it will help with the longevity of your Stihl products.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to handle Works great my wife like it to blow leaves off the porch
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My first Stihl product I needed a good cordless blower/shedder and decided to try the stihl brand. I'm probably not going to use the shredder part hard but it may help when I'm tired of bending alot for the smaller leaf buildups. This Stihl product is well balanced smooth running and easy starting so far. Ask me in a few years how I feel about it and I'll answer then :-)
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SH86 is my first Stihl product - I'll be back for more! Just purchased a new Stihl SH86 blower/vac to replace an older Ryobi product I used for years, and the old unit was a curved-shaft trimmer with a shaft that could swap out different attachments, so I had a blower unit with the trimmer, as well. I decided to purchase a different/separate trimmer only, so I decided to try a Honda commercial straight-shaft unit with the larger GX35 motor. The SH86 was also purchased and it will be my separate blower, but it also doubles as a shredder-vac for fall leaf pick-up, so I thought it would be perfect. Well, I have to say the quality and power of the SH86 is pretty impressive. It's balanced pretty well and doesn't make my hand go to sleep after using it for a long time! Funny, but that's important to me. The 2-stroke Stihl motor is quiet, efficient, and smooth overall, albeit a little hesitant to rev up fast or produce much power at lower rpms, and I'm using the Stihl pre-mixed fuel in it. I got a case from my dealer. But, I have to say this - when I compare the Stihl's motor to the new Honda GX35 motor, I rather have the Honda motor (but they don't produce a product like the SH86). The Honda has instant torque available at lower rpms and it revs up fast and gets crazy powerful. The Honda motor is super efficient, like all Honda motors. I see more Stihl products in my future (chain saw soon?), but I HOPE Stihl can come up with a small 4-stroke that rivals the Honda. PLEASE! Keep up the good work, Stihl.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blower/shredder that I have ever owned! I struggle to say anything negative about this machine. However the only thing that I can possibly think of would be to make converting from blower to shredder just a little easier.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm loving it Bought this to replace a 14 yr old corded shredder vac and I couldn't be happier. I have 1.5 acres with a lot of trees and landscaping and to be able to pick this up and go anywhere on my property at any time is invaluable. So far it starts great and runs great. I've mostly used it in the vac/shredder mode to pick up leaves out of my landscape rocks and mulch beds. It also worked great on all the debris my birch tree dropped on my driveway this spring. This summer I will use it to quickly blow the grass away from my pool after mowing and whatever else I can think of...the possibilities are endless!!
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stihl Shredder Vac/Blower SH 86-C After deep investigation of blowers at this level, I chose this Stihl Shredder Vac/Blower SH 86-C and have used it for 2.5 years now. Hands down, it has performed excellent in all weather temperatures and conditions. I chose to spend the extra money for the SH model, which is the shredder Vac upgrade, not so much for the VAC option, but because the internal hardware in these models are upgraded to stainless steel parts and I have found that the heavy duty rating is authentic. After 2.5 years, I have only done very basic maintenance. But, I treat it like my lady: put 93 octane gas and add synthetic 50:1 oil only, clean it up after ever use and refill the tank after every use so condensation (water) does accumulate due to the ethanol in pump gas, then store it high. If you want heavy duty, extremely high quality, this product will last you for years. By the way, the shredder vac will eat leaves and twigs like butter and put them in the side bag. I would buy this again and recommend it highly!
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Utility I replaced an old Exho blower with the SH-86 and it has exceeded my expectations. Starts easy, blows strong and can handle medium duty leaf vacuuming with no issues. The dual handles are useful gor blower and bagging. I would buy it again in a heartbeat. Great product for the medium and light duty user/homeowner.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don't buy this for the vacume feature. I did, and I wish I wouldn't have. The slightest twig will jam this unit up. It's fine if you ONLY pick up small leaves, but anything else... no. The blower works flawlessly, just like all Stihl blowers... but don't pay for a feature that you'll find to perform badly.. Just because I took a hit doesn't mean you have to.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but has some issues Machine starts and runs well. Issues are with attachments. 1. Switching from blower to shredder and back is laborious and time consuming. You need a screwdriver or similar tool, and while aligning the intake tube and getting it secured can be accomplished alone, it would best be done with 2 people so that one can hold the tube in place while the other turns the plastic shroud (securing "nut").2. Adjusting tube length (wife shorter than me) is almost impossible. Once you manage to get the tubes twisted into place, loosening them requires gorilla-like strength.3. Swapping between the gutter kit and regular blower turned out to be impossible, as I could not separate the second section of tube from the first. The "shove together and twist to lock" design created a union so tight even my gorilla (bodybuilder son) could not separate them. It appears I will have to buy another first section of tubing. [Note: the gutter kit and the regular blower are intended to share the single first section of tube which came with the shredder-vac. Won't be true for me since I can't get them apart.]
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for light leaf work Bought this to reduce load of leaf raking. I have found for large jobs not much beats raking and bagging. The vac shredder takes a long time and shredder blade and vac impeller have to be replaced often. Doesn't do well with small acorns or rock beds. Nagger for the mower might be more realistic for my applications. It does start easy and work well when blade and impeller are not damaged
Date published: 2017-03-21
  • y_2018, m_2, d_16, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_170
  • loc_en_US, sid_sh86ce, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl